The City of Vaughan, formerly Vaughan Township, was named by Lieutenant-Governor John Graves Simcoe in honour of British diplomat Benjamin Vaughan. He was the co-negotiator of the Peace of Paris, the treaty that ended the American Revolutionary War (1775-1783). It is the fifth-largest city in the Greater Toronto Area, and the 17th largest city in Canada.

Vaughan is bounded by Caledon and Brampton to the west, King/Richmond Hill to the north, Markham/Richmond Hill to the east and Toronto to the south. It is located approximately 25 minutes from Downtown Toronto.


More facts:

  • The total land size in Vaughan covers 27,550 square hectares (68,077 acres)
  • The total greenspace area is 4,109 square hectares (10,153 acres)
  • The highest geographical point is just south of King-Vaughan Road, west of Bathurst Street
  • The lowest geographical point is just north of Steeles Avenue West, west of Islington Avenue near the Humber River overpass

Contact Information


Corporate and Strategic Communications

Phone: 905-832-2281

For media requests contact:


Vaughan City Hall, Level 200
2141 Major Mackenzie Dr.
Vaughan, ON  L6A 1T1