Indigenous Land Acknowledgment

The City of Vaughan is dedicated to fostering an inclusive, equitable, accessible and accommodating community for all.

As a reflection of this ongoing commitment, the City adopted an update to its Indigenous Land Acknowledgement on June 22. Mayor Maurizio Bevilacqua and Members of Council endorsed an amendment to address existing inaccuracies. This includes changing the title from “Aboriginal Territorial Acknowledgement” to “Indigenous Land Acknowledgement,” in addition to a revised statement. It was ratified before Council on Tuesday, June 22 and reads as follows:



[Image reading: “We respectfully acknowledge that the City of Vaughan is situated in the Territory and Treaty 13 lands of the Mississaugas of the Credit First Nation. We also recognize the traditional territory of the Huron-Wendat and the Haudenosaunee. The City of Vaughan is currently home to many First Nations, Métis and Inuit people today. As representatives of the people of the City of Vaughan, we are grateful to have the opportunity to work and live in this territory.”]


Contact Information

Office of the Chief Human Resources Officer – Diversity, Equity and Inclusion


Zincia Francis

Diversity and Inclusion Officer

Phone: 905-832-2281


Vaughan City Hall, Level 100
2141 Major Mackenzie Dr.
Vaughan, ON  L6A 1T1

Additional Resources