

CITY OF VAUGHAN SPECIAL COUNCIL MINUTES OCTOBER 24, 2017

Table of Contents

Minute No.		
126.	CONFIRMATION OF AGENDA	110
127.	DISCLOSURE OF INTEREST	110
128.	2017 ORDER OF VAUGHAN RECIPIENTS	110
129.	CONFIRMING BY-LAW	112
130.	ADJOURNMENT	113

CITY OF VAUGHAN

SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING

TUESDAY, OCTOBER 24, 2017

MINUTES

Council convened in the Municipal Council Chamber in Vaughan, Ontario, at 10:44 a.m.

The following members were present:

Hon. Maurizio Bevilacqua, Mayor Regional Councillor Gino Rosati Regional Councillor Sunder Singh Councillor Tony Carella Councillor Rosanna DeFrancesca Councillor Marilyn Iafrate Councillor Alan Shefman Councillor Sandra Yeung Racco

126. CONFIRMATION OF AGENDA

MOVED by Councillor lafrate seconded by Councillor Carella

THAT the agenda be confirmed.

CARRIED

127. DISCLOSURE OF INTEREST

There was no disclosure of interest by any member.

128. 2017 ORDER OF VAUGHAN RECIPIENTS

MOVED by Councillor lafrate seconded by Regional Councillor Singh

That the recommendation contained in the following report of the City Clerk, on behalf of the Vaughan Selection Committee, dated October 24, 2017, be approved.

CARRIED

Report of the City Clerk on behalf of the Vaughan Selection Committee, dated October 24, 2017

The City Clerk, on behalf of the Order of Vaughan Selection Committee, recommends:

- That Council endorse the 9 individuals recommended by the Order of Vaughan Selection Committee and set out in Confidential Attachment 1 to this report, as the 2017 recipients of the Order of Vaughan; and
- 2. That the names of the individual recipients be made public following notification by the Mayor.

Contribution to Sustainability

The periodic granting of recognition to members of the broader community serves to establish a culture of public service and servant leadership.

Economic Impact

Funding for the 2017 Order of Vaughan presentation event is available in the Council Corporate Budget.

Communications Plan

The Mayor will contact the recipients to advise them of the conferring of the honour.

Presentations to recipients of the 2017 Order of Vaughan will be take place at a ceremony to be held at 7 pm on Tuesday, November 21st, 2017 at Vaughan City Hall.

Purpose

The purpose of this report is to seek Council's endorsement of the Order of Vaughan Selection Committee's list of recipients for the 2017 Order of Vaughan.

Background - Analysis and Options

The Order of Vaughan program was established by Council's adoption of Item No. 16 of Report No. 40 of the Committee of the whole on November 17, 2015, and of Item No. 9 of Report No. 12 of Committee of the Whole on March 22, 2016.

The Order of Vaughan is presented as Vaughan's highest honour. The Order of Vaughan is granted to a maximum of ten individuals annually, except for the first year of the program (2016) when 25 awards were granted to symbolically recognize the contributions individuals made to the City over its first 25 years.

Recipients will become Members of the Order of Vaughan, and will be permitted to indicate such by wearing a subtle pin. The initiative is modelled after the Order of Canada and the Order of Ontario.

To qualify for the Order of Vaughan, an individual must have a significant and enduring relationship with the City and recognized as being engaged in a beneficial activity in Vaughan in one or more of the following categories:

Arts & Entertainment
Business
Science & Technology
Environment
Media & Communications
Philanthropy
Not-For-Profit
Spiritual
Athletics
Public Service
Equity & Diversity
Health & Wellness
Education
Accessibility

In all, application packages for 41 individuals were reviewed by the Order of Vaughan Selection Committee. This year, in accordance with the Terms of Reference for the Order of Vaughan, a recipient from the previous year, Giuliano Todaro, was invited to participate as a member of the Selection Committee. In addition to Mr. Todaro, the Selection Committee consists of Daniel Kostopoulos, City Manager; Mary Reali, Deputy City Manager of Community Services; Margie Singleton, CEO of Vaughan Public Libraries; Dan Zelenyj, Manager, Archives and Records Management Services & City Archivist; Brian Shifman, President & CEO of the Vaughan Chamber of Commerce; and the City Clerk as Chair.

The selection committee had a challenging task in distinguishing honourees amongst the wide array of individuals who have made strong commitments to this community. The exclusion of a nominee from the recommended list should not be taken as an indicator that those not receiving an award would not be a worthy Order of Vaughan recipient at a later date. Rather, the recommended recipients are reflective of the best information the Order of Vaughan Selection Committee had before it when the review was conducted.

Relationship to Vaughan Vision 2020/Strategic Plan

The initiatives in this report support the following initiatives set out in the Term of Council Service Excellence Strategy Map:

Term of Council Priorities:

- Support and promote arts, culture, heritage and sports in the community
- Enhance civic pride through a consistent city-wide approach to citizen engagement

Regional Implications

Not applicable

Conclusion

Having reviewed all applications received, the Order of Vaughan Selection Committee recommends the individuals set out in Confidential Attachment 1 to be the 2017 recipients of the Order of Vaughan.

Attachments

Confidential Attachment 1: 2017 Order of Vaughan Recipients

Report prepared by:

Barbara A. McEwan, City Clerk on behalf of the Order of Vaughan Selection Committee

(A copy of the attachments referred to in the foregoing have been forwarded to each Member of Council and a copy thereof is also on file in the office of the City Clerk.)

129. CONFIRMING BY-LAW

MOVED by Councillor Carella seconded by Councillor Shefman

THAT By-law Number 126-2017, being a by-law to confirm the proceedings of Council at its meeting on October 24, 2017, be enacted.

CARRIED

SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING MINUTES - OCTOBER 24, 2017

130.	<u>ADJOURNMENT</u>	
	MOVED by Councillor Carella seconded by Councillor Yeung Racco	
	THAT the meeting adjourn at 10:45 a.m.	
	CARRIED	
Hon. Maurizio Bevilacqua, Mayor		Barbara A. McEwan, City Clerk