THE CITY OF VAUGHAN **BY-LAW**

BY-LAW NUMBER 087-2014

A By-law to establish a Compliance Audit Committee for compliance audit applications received during the 2014 to 2018 term of Council.

WHEREAS municipalities and school boards in Ontario are required by section 81.1 of the Municipal

Elections Act, 1996 to establish a compliance audit committee prior to October 1 in an election year;

AND WHEREAS it is the responsibility of a compliance audit committee to consider compliance audit applications relating to the campaign finances of registered candidates who participated in the 2014 general municipal and school board elections or in any by-election that might occur during the 2014-2018 term of Council;

AND WHEREAS the local municipalities in the Regional Municipality of York have collaborated on the recruitment of a roster of individuals, to be known as the Joint Compliance Audit Committee Roster, from which the local municipalities will appoint Compliance Audit Committees as necessary;

NOW THEREFORE, THE COUNCIL OF THE CORPORATION OF THE CITY OF VAUGHAN ENACTS AS FOLLOWS:

- 1. THAT a Committee of three (3) members, to be known as the Compliance Audit Committee, is hereby established to deal with matters provided for in Section 81 of the *Municipal Elections Act, 1996*;
- 2. THAT the members of the Compliance Audit Committee shall be selected by the City Clerk from the following roster of individuals:

Terrance James Alderson Janet Andrews Ron Colucci Robert Freedman Mark Gannage Kelly Gravelle Paul Jones Karen Leung Jason Nice Enacted by City of Vaughan Council this 24th day of June, 2014.

Hon. Maurizio Bevilacqua, Mayor

Jeffrey A. Abrams, City Clerk

Authorized by Item No.11 of Report No. 18 of the Committee of the Whole Adopted by Vaughan City Council on May 6, 2014